Open access publishing for researchers in the UK - Author Services

We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Open access publishing for researchers in the UK

New read & publish agreement with JISC consortium

Corresponding authors affiliated with participating institutions in the UK are now eligible to publish open access (OA) in Taylor & Francis and Routledge Open Select (hybrid) journals at no cost to themselves.

This transitional agreement between Taylor & Francis Group and the JISC consortium combines continued access to subscription articles with the opportunity to publish OA in around 2,300 Open Select titles.

What should I do to make my research open access?

You don’t need to do anything. All accepted research meeting the requirements below will automatically be considered for open access publication under this agreement. If funding for your article is approved by your institution, you will receive an email asking you to select the Creative Commons license of your choice – find out about Creative Commons licenses

What are the requirements?

To be eligible, articles must:

  • Be original research articles. Other types of paper, such as Editorials, Announcements, and Book Reviews, are not covered by this agreement.
  • Be accepted for publication after the 1st January 2021
  • Have a corresponding author affiliated with a participating institution (see below).

Which journals can I publish in open access under this agreement?

Open Select (hybrid) Taylor & Francis and Routledge journals are part of this agreement.

Is there a limit to the number of articles that can be made open access under this agreement?

Yes, JISC and Taylor & Francis have agreed a maximum number of open access articles to be published for each year of this partnership. Please be aware that this limit might therefore be reached before the end of a year, at which point the open access publishing element of the agreement will be paused until the beginning of the following year. However, even if the article allocation is reached, individual institutions may still have funds to continue supporting OA publishing. Please talk to your library for further details.

Which institutions are part of this agreement?

Institutions are currently in the process of opting into this agreement. Those already participating are:  

Aberystwyth University
Aston University
Bangor University
Barnsley College
Bishop Grosseteste University
Bournemouth University
Brunel University London
Canterbury Christ Church University
Cardiff Metropolitan University
Cardiff University
City, University of London
Coventry University
Cranfield University
Durham University
Edge Hill University
Edinburgh Napier University
Francis Crick Institute
Glasgow Caledonian University
Goldsmiths College, University of London
Hartpury College
Herriot Watt University
Imperial College London
Keele University
King’s College London
Lancaster University
Leeds Beckett University
Leeds Trinity University
Lincoln College
Liverpool John Moores University
London School of Economics & Political Science
London South Bank University
Loughborough University
Manchester Metropolitan University
Middlesborough College
Newcastle University
Newman University
Northumbria University
Nottingham Trent University
Oxford Brookes University
Queen Margaret University
Queen Mary, University of London
Queen’s University Belfast
Reaseheath College
Regent’s University London
Robert Gordon University
Roehampton University
Royal College of Art
Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
Royal Holloway, University of London
School of Oriental and African Studies
Sheffield Hallam University
St George’s University of London
Teesside University
The Open University
University College London
University of Aberdeen
University of Abertay Dundee
University of Bath
University of Birmingham
University of Bolton
University of Bradford
University of Brighton
University of Bristol
University of Cambridge
University of Central Lancashire
University of Chester
University of Cumbria
University of Derby
University of Dundee
University of East Anglia
University of Edinburgh
University of Essex
University of Exeter
University of Glasgow
University of Greenwich
University of Hertfordshire
University of Huddersfield
University of Kent
University of Leeds
University of Leicester
University of Lincoln
University of Liverpool
University of Manchester
University of Northampton
University of Nottingham
University of Oxford
University of Plymouth
University of Portsmouth
University of Reading
University of Salford
University of Sheffield
University of Southampton
University of St Andrews
University of Stirling
University of Strathclyde
University of Suffolk
University of Surrey
University of Sussex
University of the Arts London
University of the Highlands and Islands
University of the West of England
University of the West of Scotland
University of Warwick
University of Westminster
University of Winchester
University of Worcester
University of York
York St John University

Keep up to date with open access news

Find out about new policies, funding news, publishing tips, calls for papers, and the latest OA articles making an impact with our OA bulletin.