Events for researchers | hosted by Taylor & Francis | Author Services

We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Events for researchers

Register for our upcoming events at Taylor & Francis

We are delighted to share this year’s events for researchers, hosted by Taylor & Francis. Please register your place for the events which are relevant to you and your research.

The live events will be recorded and made available to all registrants after the talks take place, so even if you are unable to attend the live event/s we recommend that you still book your place.

Listen back to previous events on demand

Publishing in Arts & Humanities books & journals
  • Wednesday 8th June 2022, 4:00pm BST|11:00am EDT | 8:00am PDT | 5:00pm EET/SAST

  • Speakers: Emma Grylls and George Cooper, Portfolio Managers & Emmie Shand, Editor

What to expect
Publishing is an integral part of the research process with most academics required to publish at least once in their professional career. Researchers must also navigate a publishing landscape that is constantly evolving. This session is designed to provide a basic overview of the current state of academic publishing in the Arts & Humanities to enable a better understanding of the process.

The session will cover what to consider when choosing where to publish, preparing a journal article and book manuscript for publication, the peer review and publication process, open access and how to ensure that your published research has an impact. We will discuss the value of publishing in both academic and practitioner-oriented fields, along with multimedia enhancements that can be made to your article, such as video abstracts and 3D images.

About the speakers
Emma has worked at Routledge for 8 years, providing editorial support to publishing partners in the Humanities, Media and Arts. She has a Masters degree in Comparative Literature from University College London and a Diploma in French Translation. Emma currently manages a portfolio of History journals and works closely with editors and societies to help them develop their journals and publish high-quality research.

George currently manages Routledge’s heritage and conservation journals portfolio, having worked in academic publishing for 10 years, developing a range of publications in the Humanities and Social Sciences. He has an MA in Philosophy from the University of York and alongside his work at Routledge, is currently studying for PhD at University College London’s Centre for Publishing, researching censorship and the availability of English-language scholarly journals in China.

Emmie is Acting Editor at Routledge Books, commissioning across the areas of Museum & Heritage Studies, Conservation, Library & Information Science (including Archival Studies) and Digital Humanities. Emmie previously worked as a Senior Editorial Assistant for Routledge’s Business and Management textbook program. She holds an MA in English and American Literature from the University of Kent, UK.

Emma Grylls, Portfolio Manager

Head shot of George Cooper, speaker at Publishing in Arts & Humanities books & journals

George Cooper, Portfolio Manager

Head shot of Emmie Shand, speaker at Publishing in Arts & Humanities books & journals.

Emmie Shand, Editor

Peer reviewer motivation & recognition
  • Tuesday 14th June 2022, 3:00pm BST|10:00am EDT | 4:00pm CEST

We’ve brought together a panel of experts to share their experience and best practices:

  • Dr. Marco Seeber, Co-Editor of European Journal of Higher Education; Associate Professor at University of Agder, Norway

  • Helen Harrison, Senior Research Manager, University of Derby, UK

  • Dr Robin Boylorn, Editor of Communications & Critical/Cultural Studies; Professor at University of Alabama, US

  • Dr Julio M. del Hoyo-Meléndez, Editor-in-Chief of Journal of the American Institute of Conservation; Head of the Laboratory of Analysis and Non-Destructive Investigation of Heritage Objects of the National Museum in Krakow, Poland

  • Lynsey Haire, Global Director of Peer Review, Taylor & Francis

What to expect
This event aims to outline some common challenges in peer review and explore how different players in the research ecosystem could work together to address/resolve these issues. A group of panelists representing editors, reviewers, institutions, and publishers will exchange views on a range of topics covering:

– Recruiting peer reviewers: what motivates researchers to review papers, how to recruit more willing reviewers and improve peer review quality and speed.
– Diversifying the peer reviewer pool: what barriers hinder researchers from becoming reviewers, and the importance of improving diversity of the reviewer pool.
– Recognizing peer reviewer contributions: how reviewers want to be recognized and different ways to recognize their contributions and efforts.

More about the speakers
Dr Marco Seeber, Associate Professor, Co-Editor in Chief of the European Journal of Higher Education, University of Agder, Norway
Marco’s research examines public policies, governance, and management, with a focus on Higher Education and Science. Key topics of interest include the implementation and impact of policies and policy instruments, Peer Review, openness of Higher Education and scientific systems. His work has appeared in multiple journals and his co-authored paper on the competition for attracting talent won the Swiss Prize for Research in Education 2019.

Helen Harrison, Senior Research Manager, University of Derby, UK
Helen has over 10 years of experience in pre and post award, supporting externally funding applications to a wide range of funders. Her role involves raising the quality of funding applications through a range of activities, including the management of the University’s internal peer review process and the creation of the Peer Review policy. Whilst ensuring that Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity are at the forefront.

Dr Robin Boylorn, Editor of Communications & Critical/Cultural Studies; Professor at University of Alabama, US
Robin’s work is centered on issues of social identity and diversity, primarily the lived experiences of Black women in the U.S. American South. She is an award-winning author, autoethnographer, teacher, scholar and commentator who blends critical and creative qualitative work with public intellectual commentary, to make claims and arguments toward a more socially just and socially conscious society. She is the author of Sweetwater: Black Women and Narratives of Resilience, co-editor of Critical Autoethnography: Intersecting Cultural Identities in Everyday Life and co-editor and co-writer of The Crunk Feminist Collection.

Dr Julio M. del Hoyo-Meléndez, Editor-in-Chief of Journal of the American Institute of Conservation; Head of the Laboratory of Analysis and Non-Destructive Investigation of Heritage Objects of the National Museum in Krakow, Poland
Julio holds a PhD in science and conservation of cultural heritage from the Department of Conservation and Restoration of Cultural Heritage of the Polytechnic University of Valencia, Spain. He was a graduate intern in the Museum Research Laboratory of the Getty Conservation Institute in Los Angeles, USA from 2005 to 2006. In 2007, he was awarded a predoctoral fellowship at the Smithsonian Museum Conservation Institute in Maryland (USA) for conducting research on the action of light on cultural heritage materials.

Lynsey Haire, Global Director of Peer Review, Taylor & Francis
Lynsey is responsible for setting and executing global submission and manuscript tracking strategy for Taylor & Francis. She has 15 years experience working in peer review systems, where she has held myriad roles working across submission systems configuration and journal editorial office management for both pay to read, and pay to publish titles.

Dr. Marco Seeber

Helen Harrison

Dr. Robin Boylorn

Dr. Julio M. del Hoyo-Melléndez

Lynsey Haire

Publishing in Behavioural Science Journals
  • Wednesday 15th June 2022 4:00pm BST – EDT| 8:00am PDT | 11:00am EDT | 5:00pm EET/SAST

  • Speaker: Mélusine Dissard, Portfolio Manager

What to expect
Publishing is an integral element of the researcher process with most academics required to publish at least once in their professional career. Researchers must also navigate a publishing landscape that is constantly evolving. This session is designed for early career researchers who have little to no publishing experience, looking to publish with a journal from within the discipline of Behavioral Science. It will provide a basic overview of the current state of academic publishing to enable a better understanding of the process. The session will cover what to consider when choosing where to publish, Open Access, preparing your manuscript for publication, the peer review process and how to respond to reviewer reports, top reasons for rejection, and how to promote your work.

About the speaker
Mélusine has 4 years of experience in managing Open Access titles and joined Taylor & Francis in 2021 as a Portfolio Manager for the Behavioral Sciences. Her expertise lies in psychology, psychiatry and neuroscience. She is passionate about healthcare, mental health and the Open Science mission: empowering researchers and the general public by making science and education accessible to all.
Head shot of Melusine Dissard, speaker at Publishing in Behavioural Science journals.

Mélusine Dissard, Portfolio Manager

Avoiding rejection: how to successfully navigate the publishing process
  • Wednesday 15th June 7:00am BST | 2:00pm CST / TAIPEI | 11:30am IST | 9am EEST | 8:00am CAIRO/SAST |

  • Speaker: Victoria Babbit, Director of Researcher Development & Outreach

What to expect
Each year millions of articles are rejected by journals. While experiencing rejection in the publishing process is a normal aspect of every researchers’ work life, there are ways to reduce the rate of rejection. This workshop will look at some of the main reasons for articles being rejected and provide tips for avoiding that fate. The session will look specifically at journal selection, open access publishing, how to avoid predatory publishers, manuscript preparation, publishing ethics, and the peer-review process. This talk is organised in association with the NHRI, Taiwan.

About the speaker
Victoria Babbit is the Director of Researcher Development & Outreach at Taylor & Francis. Victoria joined Taylor & Francis in 2008 and throughout the past decade has supported researchers as they navigate the rapidly changing publishing landscape. Her work involves engaging with global research communities to build knowledge and capacity related to publishing and editorial activities. Prior to joining Taylor & Francis, Victoria conducted post graduate research in Geography at The University of Washington.

Head shot of Victoria Babbit, speaker at Publishing your research open access webinar.

Victoria Babbit, Director of Researcher Development & Outreach

Increasing the impact of your research
  • Wednesday 22nd June 2022 8:00am BST | 12:30pm IST | 3:00pm CIT/CST | 9:00am EET/SAST

  • Speaker: Luke Antieul, Regional VP of Marketing

What to expect
How can you make sure your research gets the recognition it deserves? This webinar will explore the tools and tactics that are available to promote your research after publication. We discuss the different groups you may be trying to reach (academic and non-academic), the channels you may wish to use (and common errors to avoid), and case studies where Taylor & Francis authors have taken their findings to a global audience. There’ll be lots of time to ask your own questions too!

About the speaker
Luke Antieul is the Regional VP of Marketing at Taylor & Francis. Luke has been with Taylor & Francis for seven years, working in a number of roles that support researchers to find the right journal for their research and achieve their publishing goals. Most recently Luke has worked specifically on our full open access journals and worked to educate authors on the benefits of publishing under this model. Prior to joining Taylor & Francis, Luke’s background was in Geography and he completed his BSc at the University of Southampton, UK.

Head shot of Luke Antieul, speaker at Increasing the impact of your research webinar.

Luke Antieul, Regional VP of Marketing

How to get published in Education journals
  • Wednesday 6th July 4:00pm BST | 00:30am IST |18:00 EEST |5:00pm SAST/CAIRO|11:00am EDT | 8:00pm PDT

  • Speaker: Abi Amey, Portfolio Manager, Education

What to expect
This session provides new and potential authors with insight on publishing in Educational research journals. Presented by Portfolio Managers in the Education group, it offers an overview of the key parts of the publishing cycle, including advice on how to select a journal, what to expect from peer review, and tips on how to promote your work following publication.

About the speaker
Abi Amey has worked on the Routledge Education journals team since 2019 and manages journals related to Early Years Education, Moral, Religious and Philosophy of Education, and History of Education. She also manages the fully Open Access titles.
Abi has a BSc in Sociology from the University of Surrey and is based in Brighton, UK.

Headshot of Abi Amey, speaker at 'how to get publshed in education journals' webinar.

Abi Amey, Portfolio Manager

Understanding open research
  • Wednesday July 20th 8.00am BST | 3:00pm CIT/CST | 12:30pm IST | 10:00am EEST, 9:00am SAST/ CAIRO

  • Speaker: Matt Cannon, Head of Open Research

What to expect
Research funders, institutions and publishers are increasingly talking about Open Research. As a broad term which encourages accessibility, transparency and reproducibility of research and supporting information, Open Research includes the practices of sharing data, code, preprints, methods, or working in new ways such as Registered Reports. Join this webinar to hear Head of Open Research, Matt Cannon cover the different areas covered by current definitions of Open Research, and outline some of the policies and practices to support this in place at Taylor & Francis. Hear more about how you can increase the transparency and reproducibility of your research and ultimately have greater impact.

About the speaker
Matt Cannon is the Head of Open Research for Taylor & Francis based in the UK. He helps set journal policies and establishes best practice to increase the reproducibility and transparency of research. He is a member of the Research Data Alliance, FORCE11 and on the steering group of the STM Publishing Association’s Research Data Project.

Headshot of Matt Canon, speaker at 'understanding open research' webinar.

Matt Cannon, Head of Open Research

Publishing your research open access
  • Wednesday 3rd August 4:00pm BST | 8:30pm IST |6:00pm EEST |5:00pm SAST/CAIRO | 11:00pm EDT | 8:00pm PDT

  • Speaker: Victoria Babbit, Director of Researcher Development & Outreach

What to expect
Publishing is an integral element of the researcher process with most academics required to publish at least once in their professional career. Researchers must also navigate a publishing landscape that is constantly evolving. This session is designed for early career researchers who have little to no publishing experience. It will provide a basic overview of the current state of academic publishing to enable a better understanding of the process. The session will cover what to consider when choosing where to publish, Open Access, preparing your manuscript for publication, the peer review process and how to respond to reviewer reports, top reasons for rejection, and how to promote your work.

About the speaker
Victoria Babbit is the Director of Researcher Development & Outreach at Taylor & Francis. Victoria joined Taylor & Francis in 2008 and throughout the past decade has supported researchers as they navigate the rapidly changing publishing landscape. Her work involves engaging with global research communities to build knowledge and capacity related to publishing and editorial activities. Prior to joining Taylor & Francis, Victoria conducted post graduate research in Geography at The University of Washington.

Head shot of Victoria Babbit, speaker at Publishing your research open access webinar.

Victoria Babbit, Director of Researcher Development & Outreach

More events at Taylor & Francis

The following webinars are confirmed for the second half of 2022. We will be sharing more details soon.

July, August:

  • How to get published in Education journals

  • Understanding open research

  • Publishing in Life, Earth, Environmental Sciences journals

  • Increasing the impact of your research

  • Publishing your research open access

September, October:

  • Publishing in Physical Science and Engineering journals

  • Publishing ethics

  • Publishing in Humanities journals

  • Publishing in Behavioral Science journals

  • Understanding open research

November, December:

  • Publishing in Medicine & Health journals

  • Publishing ethics

  • Publishing in Social Science journals

  • Increasing the impact of your research

  • Publishing your research open access

Webinar series hosted by Research4Life

Research4Life are hosting a 6-part webinar series designed to support researchers with their publishing and research communication processes. Taylor & Francis are collaborating with Research4Life on 3 of the webinars in the series.

To register your place at any or all of the webinars in this series, you will need to fill in the Research4Life sign up form. And, if you have any questions about this webinar series, please email: [email protected]

Are you interested in being a peer reviewer for our journals?

We have training sessions specifically curated just for you: ‘Excellence in Peer Review: Taylor & Francis Reviewer Training Network‘. Our in-person and online workshops provide vital information and training on how to be an effective peer reviewer.